Ramblings of a newbie food blogger.

I am not a writer. It was my worst subject in school. Had I known where life would lead me I would have paid more attention in writing class.

My grandma always had a dream of writing and publishing a novel.so at the age of eighty went back to collage for computer and writing classes. She now at the age of ninety has written and published not one but two novels. I am learning from her example it is never to late to do something new.

While I know I can cook just about anything, writing about it is something new. I tend to cook by Braille. A little of this a little of that until it tastes just right. Writing down the amounts and the how to , not to mention the ooh and awes. It is not natural for me. Pictures, I can do pictures but words don’t come easy. But here I am writing and doing my best at something that is uncomfortable because I need and want something more. I have been told that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over expecting a different result. So if I want a different result I need to do things differently. So with the inspiration of my grandma and the help of a couple of great business partners(Perry Perkins and Terry Ramsey) I am changing who I am and what I do.

Being new to this blogging thing I was a little hesitant when my good friend and business partner Perry Perkins said we need to go to the International Food Bloggers conference(IFBC). He went last year and hasn’t stopped talking about it. Lots of food and people who love food. Gadgets (I love gadgets) and classes about better ways to do things. Learning something new is great but what I am looking forward to the most is meeting a bunch of people that share one thing in common. Their love of food. As I am writing this Perry are on an Amtrak train heading north to Seattle. It is Thursday afternoon. Sitting here on the train we can hear faint conversations about food and recipes from other passengers. Perry and I are discussing what our game plan is for the IFBC. We will be meeting up with an old friend for dinner and drinks this evening ( she already has two happy hour stops planned. This has long night written all over it.) this is going to be a great weekend.

Chef Chris Renner

hautemealz.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ramblings of a newbie food blogger.

  1. Mark Verner says:

    Welcome to the Food Blogging World! Like you, I’m very uncomfortable writing about food, etc. So I hope to gain some confidence in my writing at the IFBC this weekend. Judging by your first blog post, you’re a pretty good writer already! I hope you have a great time at the conference this weekend, and maybe I’ll see you at one of the seminars! Mark ~ Chow Down Seattle

  2. hautemealz says:

    I got some news for you bro…you’re a writer! Good one, too! – Perry

Leave a Reply

