I Hate Goodbyes.

So I went with my good friend Perry last weekend to say our goodbyes to an old friend. I have known Ed for close to thirty years. Ed has been fighting cancer for a couple of years now and is coming to the end of that fight.

I have mixed emotions as I am a Christian and so is My friend Ed. I believe he is going to a better life. That doesn’t change the fact that I will miss sitting with him while trying to solve the worlds problems eating great BBQ on his back porch or sitting around the campfire on a fishing trip.

Ed has always been that three in the morning friend. You called and he would be there. He never asked for anything in return. He would laugh, cry or just sit and let you talk. Then when the time was right he had words of wisdom that were just what you needed to here.

It was incredible to watch the way Ed and his wife Teri would take someone under their wing and lift them up out of the hole they had dug themselves into. They showed you how to be a Christian by loving people. They gave quite often beyond what they had to give. It is tough having been on the receiving end of that love so many times and not knowing how to pay back all that they deserve.

If you think about it please say a prayer or two for his wife and kids. They are loosing an incredible husband and daddy. They are going to miss him very much.

It amazes me to see how many people his life has touched. How many people that can say my life is better because of Ed. I know mine is. So is my wife’s. My kids have had the privilege of having known him. If I could die knowing I had become half the man he was I would call my life worth living.

The good news is that he will be healed soon and will be walking with our savior on streets of gold. One day I hope to see him there.

Good by my friend. Remember to find some good fishing holes for me.
Love you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Hate Goodbyes.

  1. hautemealz says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. Thanks brother.

  2. Teri Bjorklund says:

    DearChris, I just got up the backbone to look more at comments on line, your sentiments we’re beautiful and stated so well .Thank you. I feel humbled by all your praise and blessed to know that when it came to Ed you really gave him honor that was deserved.He was/ is a great man.Love you and your family and I know that you hold a special place in his heart. It is so cool to think that we will all be together again. With our Lord The One who makes this life meaningful and comforts us in times like these, people who don’t know Jesus are poor indeed.It has been a priviledge to be a part of your lives we have been blessed and recieved from you so much more than I could ever express ♥
    .

Leave a Reply

